The Yankees declined to offer arbitration to all eight players who were eligible; Andy Pettitte, Bobby Abreu, Jason Giambi, Pudge Rodriguez, Sidney Ponson, Carl Pavano, Chad Moeller and Mike Mussina.  Mussina announced his retirement two weeks ago.

In a pre-recorded statement, Brian Cashman did not rule out re-signing Pettite or Abreu.  “The determination that we made today was to make sure we control what amount we’d be spending,” Cashman said Monday. “We did not want to put ourselves in a position of having that determined by a third party without knowing what that figure would be.”

CC Sabathia, Derek Lowe and AJ Burnett were all offered arbitration by their respective teams.

Other notables around the league:

Offered Arbitration: Mark Teixeira and Francisco Rodriguez (LA Angels), Manny Ramirez and Derek Lowe (LA Dodgers), AJ Burnett (Toronto), Oliver Perez (NY Mets), Raul Ibanez (Seattle), CC Sabathia and Ben Sheets (Milwaukee)

Not Offered Arbitration: Greg Maddux and Jeff Kent (LA Dodgers), Pedro Martinez and Moises Alou (NY Mets), Frank Thomas (Oakland)