Brian Cashman canceled a meeting with New York writers Tuesday evening for an undisclosed reason.  An email from the Yankees said, “Unfortunately Brian is off hotel property and unavailable for the rest of the evening. This was not scheduled and we apologize for the inconvenience.”

Kat O’Brien at Newsday is reporting that Cashman flew to San Francisco to meet with CC Sabathia for the third time in as many days.  She also makes a great point:  Perhaps this meeting will include Sabathia’s wife, Amber.  Coincidentally, the last time I interviewed for a job, my wife and I went out to dinner with the manager so she could better understand what the company was all about and so they could meet my significant other and know what type of person I am.  This could be the meeting that seals the deal; if Amber likes what she hears, Sabathia might have no reasons left not to become a Yankee.