AJ Burnett and CC Sabathia were officially introduced as Yankees today and Sabathia gave a little insight into why he chose the Bronx Bombers.

“I think this is the best place for me to try to win a championship,” Sabathia said Thursday, on his way to the news conference where he was formally introduced. “Everybody had speculated about me staying in California. I had always talked about winning a championship, and you look at the Yankees, it’s something they contend for (every year).”

Sabathia also disclosed that Derek Jeter made a couple of recruiting calls to tell him how fun it was to play in New York.  After making his decision, Sabathia then called Jeter to talk about playing together.  Sabathia will wear number 52

Burnett said he is excited to play for the Yankees because he wants to win and he wants to “play on a big stage.”  Burnett will wear number 34.

Welcome to the team, fellas.  I hope you can handle the pressure.

Photo Credit:REUTERS/Ray Stubblebine