Mark Teixeira was officially announced as a Yankee today, and I liked some of the things I heard at his news conference.

First, his wife helped him make the decision to become a Yankee.  “I’d been asking her for weeks and weeks, Where do you want to go? Where do you want me to play?” he recalled. “And she said, ‘I want you to be happy. I just want you to be happy.’ And finally, she said, ‘I want you to be a Yankee.’ So that’s when it was done. And once we got the contract figured out, it was a no-brainer.  The Yankees hadn’t made their decision yet, but that’s when we made our decision.”

Teixeira is excited about playing in the new stadium.  “I’m going to get a chance to be the first first baseman that the Yankees have in the new stadium. And, you know, the Bleacher Bums (he means the Bleacher Creatures) in right are going to do the roll call. That’s going to be pretty sweet. Hopefully, we’re going to be four games up in the division at the time, and are already rolling, and the fans here in New York will be pumped.”

Teixeira has also been a huge Don Mattingly fan and has worn number 23 while with his previous teams to honor him.  He will wear Jason Giambi’s former number 25, since 23 is retired in honor of Mattingly.

Baring any unforseen signings in the very near future, this will be the last event held at the old Yankee Stadium.  The team will officially move to the new stadium on January 23.

