David Wells spoke up on the Micheal Kay show this week about Joe Torre’s new book in which Torre says some disparaging things about Wells and his experience with the pitcher.  Responding to the question of what he would do if he saw Torre in the next month or so, Wells said, laughing, “I’d knock him out.  You know what? I probably wouldn’t say anything. I would probably laugh at him.”

“I’ve always said if you weren’t Joe’s boy, he could care less about you,” Wells said. “He ran his tight ship the way he wanted to. Don’t get me wrong, he is not a bad manager. I just thought he was a bad individual, because of the fact he didn’t treat everybody the same. He had his boys. He let certain guys do their thing. He wouldn’t let other guys do other things.”

Torre wrote, “The difference between Kevin Brown and David Wells is that both make your life miserable, but David Wells meant to.”

Wells said he plans to buy the book.  “I’d like to go buy the book,” Wells said. “He can have his 27 bucks. It doesn’t matter to me. Just to read it to see how much BS is in that.”

Wells pitched for Torre and the Yanks during the ’97-’98 seasons and again during the ’02-’03 seasons.  He also pitched a perfect game while a member of the Yankees.