My wife is such a good salesperson that she won a trip to Jamaica through her company and we spent the last week in 86 degree weather on the beach.  We came home late Saturday evening, just in time for the 6-12 inches of snow falling on Yankee Country today.  BTW, its like 17 degrees outside.  Needless to say, I’m THRILLED to be home.

I was surprised again how much Yankees fans are different then other fans.  While we were traveling, I was sporting my Yankee hoody and hat, and as always, got many comments. One of the things that surprised me was they way we talk differently.  For instance, I ran into some White Sox fans in the airport.  One asked me how I felt about the Yankees chances this year.  I told him WE seem to be looking great, especially with the addition of Sabathia and Burnett.  I then asked him how he felt about the Sox.  His reponse was, well, they didn’t really add anyone in free agency.  And there’s our difference – Yankees fans say WE all other fans say THEY.

On the flight down, I had to sit next to a Boston fan.  Well a fake one.  One of those girl fans, who wears a pink shirt the the Boston B on it, but doesn’t know who John Smoltz is.  I ignored her for the rest of the trip.

My favorite hobby is reading, so I borrowed Chris’ “birthday presents” to himself (Confessions of a She-Fan and The Yankee Years) and brought Blood Meridian by Cormac McCarthy, for some non-Yankee reading.  For some unknown reason, I read Jane Heller’s book first.  It didn’t even make it to Jamaica.  I was about 1/3 of the way through it by the time we left, and I finished it about 15 minutes before landing in Montego Bay.  I just couldn’t put it down.  I forgot how much I loved the ’07 season.  The heartbreak when we started so horribly and the thrill when the team finished so beautifully.  The excitement of Joba pitching so dominantly.  Then, the attack of the midges.  The sadness of it being over.

I spent the entire book wondering whose comments were posted at the beginning of each chapter.  Eventually I realized they belonged to the one Yankee she would eventually interview.  Then it occurred to me that I could just flip ahead and figure it out.  But for some reason I didn’t.

Next up was The Yankee Years by Joe Torre and Tom Verducci.  Or as I would have put it, by Joe Torre and Tom Verducci with David Cone and Mike Mussina.  I never knew Cone’s leadership role was so strong on that team – I thought leadership was coming from Paulie, Bernie and Joe Girardi.

Overall I loved the book.  I enjoyed seeing the inner workings of a championship organization.  But I felt as if Torre is still sore with how everything happened the last few years.  Don’t get me wrong, the way Hal, Hank, Randy and Cash treated Torre in that least meeting is abhorrent.  The way all the blame was thrown on him for the crappy pitching was underhanded.  However, I still felt as if Torre spent more time focusing on the pressure he felt and drama from ’04-’08, then speaking about the great things from those seasons.  Like the 5 game sweep of Boston at Fenway in 2006.  Barely mentioned.  That five game series turned the season around for both teams and it was barely mentioned.

Bottom line, I kind of hoped the book was going to do more then it actually did.  It was well-written and full of amazing stories, but it was still missing a lot.  I think packing 12 years into 479 pages cut out too much, at least for my liking.