artadenhart-giAt approximately 12:33 am this morning, Nick Adenhart, a rookie pitcher in the Angels organization lost his life to a drunk driver.

When this news arrived to me this morning, I felt sadness at another useless death. There are hundreds, perhaps thousands of senseless deaths happening everyday.

Another thing that hit home was that Adenhart grew up and went to high school not far from where I live in Maryland. I vaguely remember reading about him in the local papers and how he was the first from the area to go to pro baseball.

Adenhart had just thrown 6 scoreless innings a few hours earlier and his father was in town from Maryland to watch his son pitch.

Both Edwar Ramirez and Jose Molina remember Adenhart from their time with the Angels and they remember a great guy who worked hard.

My heart goes out to the Adenhart family.