3-28 with runners in scoring position.  That’s how the Yankees hit in the three-game series against Boston when it mattered.  That’s a .107 BA.  I usually don’t like bringing down guys just cause they had a bad day at the “office” but c’mon, my friggin’ 7 year-old niece could have hit better in the clutch.

I’m going to say something I have not heard from any of the beat writers, critics or other bloggers, and I am going to stand behind it: This lineup is not working.

First game, anyone would have lost.  Josh Beckett threw a one-hitter through 6 and handed his bullpen a 6-0 lead.  Plus, the way AJ Burnett pitched, any team would have lost.  We’ll give them that one.  The Yankees were 0-5 with runners on base that game and only got two in scoring position.  Chalk it up to a bad day.

Second game, the Yankees were 2-15 with runners in scoring position (RISP) – including Derek Jeter (formerly known as Captain Clutch) who was 0-3, Alex Rodriguez (formerly known as a guy who could actually hit) 0-2, Robinson Cano (formerly known as the Yankees best hitter in April) 0-4, and the list goes on.

Mark Teixeira was 4-5 in this game with a single, two doubles and a homer.  Jorge Posada was 2-5, Hideki Matsui was 2-3 and Nick Swisher was 1-2.  Yet with all those hits, those four managed only 3 RBI.

“What happened, Trevor,” you ask.  Simple.  Teixeira was hitting well, but no one in front of him was on base.  With two doubles and a homer, had one guy been on base just ONE of those times, the Yankees tie the game instead of losing.  Jeter and Johnny Damon had gone a combined 1-10 on the night.

Its not even Chien-Ming Wang’s fault because for the 500th time this season he demonstrated he can’t pitch anymore.  Phil Hughes kept the Yanks in the game through 3 innings of relief.  The lineup failed to win it.

Now, on to game three, where the Yankees were an astounding 1-11 with RISP.  Yep, you read that right.  1-11.  Tex followed up his great performance in game 2 with a beautiful 0-5 performance, leaving two RISP stranded.  Jeter was 2-5, but no one was on when he hit.  Matsui was 2-3 and Melky Cabrera was 2-4, yet neither guy had a RBI.  Why?

Cause A-Rod, Cano and Swisher were a combined 3-11.

Something is up.  This lineup is supposed to be a powerful one.  Yet not a single player has a .300 BA.  Teixeira is getting close.  He has been hitting over .300 as of late and leads the AL in homers.  But Damon, Jeter, Rodriguez, Posada and Cano are all hitting below their career averages.

So either the hitting coach needs to be replaced or the lineup should have been different.  In no way am I saying the Yankees should have freaked out.  But when you lose seven straight against one team, you need to try something different.  I think its clear that the Red Sox had figured out the Yankees.

My lineup would have been:

Cabrera CF, Damon LF, Cano 2B, Teixeira 1B, Matsui DH, Rodriguez 3B, Swisher RF, Cervelli C, Jeter SS

And you’ve got to trust that I didn’t know each player final performance before I picked this lineup…It was based on how they have played in the last week or so.  Plus, it would have worked.  Check the numbers.

If you didn’t already know, I am in sales.  Recently, my company upgraded to laptops for customer presentations and for the first 3 weeks, I did well with it and increased sales slightly.  But then, things got bad and I had the worst no-sale streak of my career, and the worst 4 week stretch of n0-sales in my career.

I decided something had to be changed.  After all, the definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.  So I went back to doing my presentations with my binder, using the computer as a supplemental tool, not the only one.  And it worked, in the last 10 days, I have sold the most ever in my career for a 10-day period.

But the reason my lineup wouldn’t have worked would simply be because it never would happen.  Jeter might freak out if he is batting ninth.  And how can a guy making $30 Million/year bat sixth?  In my world, because they aren’t producing the way they should.  Period.