Before Sunday afternoon’s game against the Mets, according to the Daily News, Brian Bruney approached Mets closer Francisco Rodriguez (K-Rod) and apparently tried to make amends for the war of words between the two on Saturday.

It all began after Bruney made some comments about the Yankees last-second lucky win Friday night and how he felt K-Rod had it coming.  “It couldn’t happen to a better guy on the mound, either. He’s got a tired act.”

“Unbelievable. I’ve never seen anything like that. I have, but in high school,” Bruney said of the way K-Rod celebrates after big moments.  Rodriguez celebrates much the same way Joba Chamberlain did in 2007, with fist-pumps but adds a sort-of “roar” to the act.

Rodriguez didn’t take it well when he heard about the comments on Saturday and responded by saying he didn’t know who Bruney was and the comments didn’t matter.

“He better keep his mouth shut and do his job and not worry about somebody else, K-Rod said.  “If it came from somebody big, like Mariano, somebody who has been around and is good at what he does, I will respect that comment.  I don’t even know who the guy is.”

He went on to make a crack about Bruney’s injury issues this year.  “He’s always on the DL.  That’s all I know.”

Well, its pretty clear K-Rod knows who his is now!  Bruney, accompanied by his apparent sidekick, Phil Coke, approached Rodriguez before Sunday’s game and appeared to try and talk and perhaps apologize for the comments he made.  Apparently, K-Rod wanted no part of it and appeared to get pretty fired-up considering he had downplayed the comments as not being important or worth his time. 

Rodriguez had to be restrained initially by Yankees reliever Jose Veras and then by Met’s pitcher Mike Pelfry.  He eventually walked away.  “I was probably 10 feet away and I just saw K-Rod pointing and raising his voice,” Pelfrey said, “and I just came over and grabbed him and I said ‘C’mon, lets go in.’ He was upset I guess.”

Bruney appeared to hold is ground well and didn’t back off.  He certainly did not look like he wanted to start a fight, but he did appear willing to stand his ground.  Afterwards he said, “You know what? More importantly for me, I’m coming off the DL on Tuesday.  I probably shouldn’t have said what I said. I made that mistake and I’ve learned from it.”

K-Rod set a Major League Record last season with 62 saves while a member of the LA Angels.  He signed with the Mets as a free agent in the off-season.  He is 16-17 in save chances this season.  Bruney has appeared in 10 games for the Yankees, picking up a 2-0 record and a 3.00 ERA with 13k’s in nine innings.