The Yankees announced today that Sergio Mitre will be called up this week and will take the fifth spot in he rotation, replacing the injured and struggling Chien-Ming Wang.

Mitre has pitched 45 innings at Triple-A Scranton/Wilkes-Barre and has a 2.40 ERA.  Mitre also has big league experience.  He played for Yankees skipper Joe Girardi in 2006 while both were with the Florida Marlins.

I completely forgot about Mitre missing 50 games to start this season.  While rehabbing an elbow after ligament surgery, he test positive for Performance-Enhancing Drugs and was suspended for the minimum 50 games for a first time offense.

I know I just posted a few days ago that I felt Phil Hughes was the best option to take the role of fifth starter, but after his 6 strikeouts in 2 innings last night, I am convinced he should stay in the ‘pen.  He has pitched 15 and 2/3 scoreless innings in his last 12 outings and has a 0.89 ERA as a reliever.

Hughes told the AP he agrees with the move.  “I’d assume I’d have to go down to the minor leagues to get stretched out to do that,” he said.

However, Girardi made it clear that Hughes is a starter.  “Out of necessity we’ve put him in the bullpen, and he’s excelled at it,” he said. “But I think long-term, right now, I mean, we consider him a starter.”

Alfredo Aceves will also remain the pen for virtually the same reason as Hughes – he’s too valuable there.  He is 5-1 with a 2.49 ERA in one start and 21 relief appearances.