I have to get up soooo early to go to work. I won’t have time to do my usual game recap today, but I will be back on this blog later this afternoon. Maybe Trevor will have a chance to post something. But there are a few things I’d like to say.

I’m sick of the comments on Twitter and on Facebook that the Yankees “bought their world series.” I’m going to do a blog post on this very topic later. That whole notion is ridiculous. Period.

Andy Pettitte is the man of the hour. No disrespect to CC Sabathia. CC was brilliant, no question. But Pettitte pitched the AL East clincher, the ALDS victory, the ALCS victory, and now the World Series victory. This is why he came back last January.

Jayson Stark has this article on ESPN about the Gang of Four (I like that name, I’m going to copy it). Pettitte, Jeter, Posada and Rivera.

Rivera pitched an amazing number of innings and all during the Postseason. I don’t think anyone could have asked for more from him.

I’m going to take some advil. My head is throbbing from the lack of sleep. I want to part all of you with this image for the rest of the day.

27rivera