The American League Gold Glove Winners were announced Tuesday and the Yankees Derek Jeter and Mark Teixeira were among the winners.  Jeter was honored for the first time in his career and Teixeira for the third.

Teixeira wins for the first time as a Yankee and the first time since 2006, when he was with Texas.  His defense was a huge part of the Yankees championship season.  He had a .997 fielding percentage and had a ridiculously low 4 errors this past season.

Jeter won the fourth of his career in a season where he has been highly honored for his achievements.  Not only did the Yankee captain lead the Bombers to their 27th World Series Championship and the 5th of his career, he was also honored with the Roberto Clemente Award for excellence on the field and in the community (for his Turn 2 Foundation) and the Hank Aaron Award as the AL’s top hitter.

Ichiro Suzuki of Seattle and Torii Hunter of the Angels each won their ninth Gold Gloves and both won for the amazing ninth consecutive time.

The Gold Glove, in my opinion, is one of the best awards a player can receive.  Players and managers are the only ones that get to vote and they cannot vote for a player on their team.  It must truly be an honor to be chosen by peers on other teams to win such an award.