Check out this article from ESPN’s Skoop Jackson.  Its a recap of an interview he had with new Yankees centerfielder Curtis Granderson. The interview is very well done.  I don’t remember seeing Jackson’s name before now, but he’s a good writer.

Jackson peppers Granderson a lot about how life will be different in New York, and I like some of Granderson’s answers…but also have concerns about a few.  I think he understands the magnitude of playing in pinstripes, but I think he underestimates the pressure of the fans, media and blogs.  I don’t think he gets the idea that he will be under a microscope.

In fact, he says at one point that he thinks his life will have to change as a result of being in New York.  ”

Now, the one thing that I am afraid of are things that I’m going to have to change in order to stay the same. Things I’m going to have to change because of the question you just asked earlier. You know, just being aware of little things that I do so that nothing can be taken the wrong way. The little things I might have to change in my daily life. Like hanging out at a coffee shop, just having some coffee with a friend versus a friend or friends coming in town and us just going to a bar just to have a cocktail — you know, basic stuff.”

I’m a little torn on how to interpret this.  Is Granderson going to enjoy this “change?”  Will it be better for him?  We have to remember that he was traded to the New York Yankees, he didn’t sign with them as a free agent.  He does not seem upset to be here, but one has to wonder a little bit how much he really is ready for this.  Life will have to change, it always seems to have to for every player who comes from a smaller market team to the Yankees or Red Sox.

I guess only time will tell, but hopefully Granderson’s “changes” are for the good and he is happy about them.  New York will be tough to play in, but it can also be very, very rewarding.